Geographical Information

The Indiana District 9 Healthcare Coalition encompasses (12) counties in South Eastern Indiana. Those counties are Clark, Dearborn, Decatur, Floyd, Franklin, Harrison, Jefferson, Jennings, Ohio, Ripley, Scott and Switzerland. Within the healthcare delivery system, there are (9) participating hospitals, (12) participating Health Departments and (12) Emergency Management Agencies. Currently, there are more than (80) municipal and private Emergency Medical Services available to serve over 460,000 citizens over nearly 3,800 square miles of territory.

Coalition Information

Concerned about the low level of preparedness for bioterrorist attacks on the United States and our healthcare systems, the federal government implemented the National Bioterrorism Hospital Preparedness Program, directed federally by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) in 2002 after the World Trade Center attack in 2001. The program provided funding to individual states to address gaps in hospital preparedness.

In response to the new bioterrorism grant program, numerous hospitals within the District 9 region of Indiana began meeting and over time evolved into the “District 9 Hospital Emergency Preparedness and Planning Committee, Inc” (D9 HEPPC). The D9 HEPPC is administered by the membership through their By-Laws and the election of officers and is recognized as a 501c3 non-profit organization.

In 2012, ASPR released its first, five-year grant agreement that combined the Hospital Preparedness Program (HPP) with the Public Health Emergency Preparedness (PHEP) programs. With new public health partners, the organizational design evolved to serve as a Multi-Agency Coordinating Center (D9 MACC) that assists Emergency Management and Emergency Support Function #8 with preparedness, response, recovery, and mitigation activities related to healthcare organization disaster operations.

Under ASPR’s 2017-2022 Cooperative Agreement the District 9 HEPPC began the process of developing the new organization, the District 9 Healthcare Coalition, with Hospitals, Health Departments, Emergency Management Agencies and Emergency Medical Services as core members. THE D9 HEPPC continues to provide grant oversight and serves as the Fiduciary Agent for all HPP and other district level funds and provides elected officers to the Executive Committee.
Additional healthcare and community organizations provide a diverse representation of the many agencies needed in an event. District wide hazard vulnerability assessment done annually identify areas of need and provide a direction for funding expenditures.

The benefits of relevant training and exercises, strong and continuous networking of key personnel, identification of district resources have created a strong Coalition that now stands with 100% hospital and local health department participation. The Coalition strengthens community preparedness by bringing together healthcare entities, agencies and services to meet the needs of the event.

Coalition Membership

Currently the District 9 Healthcare Coalition has membership from the following entities: Hospitals, (Acute and Critical Access, Psychiatric), Local Health Departments, Emergency Management Agencies, Emergency Medical Services, Ambulatory Surgery Centers, Rural Health Clinics, Rehabilitation Centers, Long Term Care, Assisted Living, Hospice, Home Health, Outpatient Rehabilitation, End Stage Renal Dialysis, American Red Cross, Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities and Behavioral Health.

Organizational Structure